Kiwi Lotus Flower: A Tribute to Sam Cooke 🎤

…Hey Food Lovers!

Today marks the birthdate of the late and forever great Mr. Sam Cooke. I woke up this morning, whispered a hello and sent my friends the blog I wrote about him in 2013. About one year after I wrote that entry, my goal was to either add a recipe to each blog, a food photograph I was proud of, or both. It was already in my mind not to write about him again in detail because I still feel the same way. So I decided to choose one simple item, photograph it and perhaps send you to a link I listen to of his famous song, “A Change is Gonna Come” upon close.

I chose kiwis (also known as kiwifruits & Chinese gooseberries) as my photography source. Why? Well, I’m glad you asked! They are one of my favorite fruits; easy to eat, sweet, and small enough to bring places when on the go. And they are BEAUTIFUL!!! Reminds me of paradise, the colors contrast naturally and without competition. Not to mention when I opened up the fridge there were two staring directly at me. 😉

So I got my camera out. Looked for good lighting. Thought about the angle I wanted to capture- emphasis on the fuzzy brown skin and bright green fleshy inside. Wondered if it needed a prop; a napkin or a spoon? Took a few photos…assessed the depth of field to what my mind was envisioning. Then in the midst of my critique I remembered Mr. Cooke: and I knew capturing the moment was all I needed to do. The rest is up to the audience to enjoy.

I present to you, a kiwi lotus flower! My first time making one. My first time making any fruit into a piece of art. I had fun trying. Thanks to Mutita EdibleArt on YouTube, for the tutorial and inspiration.

To Paradise,

– The Smitten Chef 🍴💋

The inverted version; because the purple looked pretty.

 

My Kiwi Lotus Flower

 

QUICK SMOOTHIE RECIPE:

Ingredients:

• 1 banana, peeled & chopped
• 5-7 strawberries, tops removed
• 1 kiwi, peeled
• 1/2 cup vanilla frozen yogurt
• 3/4 cup pineapple/orange juice

Directions:

1. Place the banana, strawberries, kiwi, frozen yogurt, and pineapple/ orange juice blend in a blender. Blend until smooth.

2. Enjoy!

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

