Sautéed Kale…with Beer?

Happy FryDay Food Lovers!

I have always wondered what kale would taste like if beer was added to it…this week I did 2 tests and guess what? I love it! Whilst I already fancy kale, it is beer that I don’t drink. I do use it for marinades and thought kale would be a great stepping stone for possibly marinating veggies or just a new flavor for people who want a new twist on the green.

It worked! I didn’t measure anything, but what I did notice was how fast the leaves dissipated once the beer was added to the pan. What I was hoping would be three servings, turned into one…the good news is if this happens to you, just add more chopped kale to the pan and voilà: you’re back to being able to share. 😉👍

Let me know if you try this, or use a different beer. I am not too familiar with brands of ales, but I do know the flavors range like wines, so I will include the specific one I used. My favorite thing about this dish is the fact that no meat was added to it for flavoring.

INGREDIENTS:

• 1 TBSP of Olive Oil

• 1/2 red onion

• 3 garlic cloves, chopped as fine as you’d like.

• Sprinkle of crushed red peppers

• 1/2 bag of Kale (I used half the bag of the precut and bagged type)

• 6 oz. Heineken Beer (I used the one from the bottle)

• Agave nectar, optional.

DIRECTIONS:

1. Heat large sauté pan with olive oil on medium high heat.

2. Add the red onions, garlic and red peppers to the pan. Stir frequently and until all sides become a nice golden brown.

3. Turn stove down to medium. Add the kale into pan, one handful at a time. Stir until it cooks down; add another handful. Repeat process until all kale is added.

4. Add beer to pan. Cook until greens get tender and a large portion of the beer is absorbed into the kale.

5. Taste the greens: if too bitter, add a few drops of agave nectar to the mix and keep cooking. If the greens are still too chewy for you, add your liquid of choice: water, broth or more beer.

* What I learned: if you completely cook the greens down to where there’s no more beer in the pan, it makes for double sautéing. Nice accident & those greens were used for a pesto pasta salad! *

Worth A Try,

The Smitten Chef 🍴😉

2015/01/img_6738.jpg

2015/01/img_6812.jpg

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

