Tequila Lime Shrimp

Greetings Food Lovers!

We meet again, only this time to discuss hyperlinks! (It is in fact okay to be confused right now; I’ll explain in a moment.)

So last night, I went to the Usher concert. I love him. I fully believe I would have chosen a dance career but I was short one key ingredient: I can’t really dance. A cooked noodle is a good description of my signature move, which is fine by me because it feels good! Ahhhh but Usher is an entirely different story for he is an excellent dancer, artist and entertainer. He inspires me & keeps me happy in the kitchen.

I remembered seeing him at a concert in 2013. I remember blogging about it. I read it this morning and had to figure out a way to share my past excitement about him, without rewriting it. So I learned how to add a HYPERLINK on a current blog…That way, you can click on this HERE and it will take you to the story. 🙏

Now that that’s settled, the title Let it Marinate reminded me of this tequila lime shrimp I love making. It’s great on the grill, but it’s light enough in flavor to be served with grits. I cannot have shrimp without making a taste test size amount of grits. I’ve tried. It didn’t feel right. Here’s the recipe; if you want a kick of spice add a little bit of cayenne pepper to the marinade.

INGREDIENTS:

2 TBSP fresh lime juice
2 TBSP your favorite tequila
1/4 c. Olive Oil
2 cloves of garlic, diced
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ancho chili powder (optional)
ground pepper to taste
1 lb. large shrimp, peeled & deveined.
Your choice of cooking oil

DIRECTIONS:

1. Whisk together all of the ingredients in a medium bowl except for the shrimp. Pour mixture into a large resealable plastic bag. Add cleaned shrimp to plastic bag; refrigerate 1-3 hours before cooking.

2. Drain shrimp & discard leftover marinade.

3. Sauté shrimp on medium high heat, about 3-4 mins per side, or until shrimp is pink and cooked throughout.
Do not overcrowd your pan with shrimp; work in batches.

4. Squeeze fresh lime juice over shrimp. Serve hot and enjoy!

* THESE ARE ALSO GREAT GRILLED *

Grab 6 wooden skewers and soak in water 30 minutes prior to grilling, as to not burn the skewers.

These are also fun appetizers: just use a toothpick and serve individually.

Let it Burn,

The Smitten Chef 💜

IMG_6118.JPG

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

