Get Fit Challenge, Day # 68: Mentors

…I cannot stress enough the importance of having a mentor.

Yes I can. After 2+ years, today I finally believe what my mentor said to me! The letter hangs on my refrigerator. Kept a copy in my wallet. I highlighted it, recited it, showed certain friends so that they could show me on my discouraging days. Cooked many a practice meal because of it, forced my friends to sample my food, studied harder, faced my fears and damn learned I had some different fears along the way. I have revised my business plan so many times I am certain it’s a book, have fallen asleep at my computer as if I knew what was going on in the first place to justify taking a nap. I have blamed, fussed, flaked and then got over myself. On the flip side I have become more intentional, subject focused & gut trusting. The hardest part of this journey has been not being able to cook the way I see myself in my dreams. You know what I mean? I had a completely different route in my beginnings. As much as I love writing, I didn’t think I would be doing it this much! Having a mentor lets you dream while awake, but keeps you on track! You can ask them questions like, “is my vision realistic?” “Can you show me how to ____?” “What have you learned from your journey?” Then you can take what you’ve learned from them and go DO IT.

The perfect mentor tells you what they see in you and shows you how to get there. They lead by example. They let others admire them and thankfully mine comes back and helps other people. I finally have some sound advice to give and that is if you have a vision, a goal, a challenge you’ve accepted that you get a mentor. They approach your craft/goal from a different angle than your family, friends and any future competition. <—and that is said with a heart full of love!

Excited,

-The Smitten Chef 😍🍴

20140522-064851-24531449.jpg

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

