๐Ÿ’˜ Give Life a Try ๐Ÿ’˜

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap, but by the seeds you plant.”

– Robert Stevensonย 

So I’m jammin’ right now to The Manhattan Transfers,ย “Birdland.” Has to be one of my favorite songs. One of my favorite groups of all times, no matter the genre. I love them. They remind me of my childhood. You know, when you’re little and really only know the tunes thatย Sesameย Street sings (and all I really remember was the alphabet and numbers- if they did anything else I’m showing my age and forgetfulness) ย or what your parents listened to? Well, my parents LOVED music. They played all kinds. Matter a fact, my fondest memories are when my mom would clean the house and my dad would turn the music up and either do yard work or leave to run errands…but enter the house right back on his favorite song with a smile on his face.

The older I get, the more I’m realizing this is what they referred to as the “weekend.” Ha Ha.

Now that I am their age back then, I see what they were doing. They were jammin’ in the name of what they already knew. Excited about what was to come, and like everyone unsure of what was next- but found it necessary to plan. That’s what I’m taking from my memories…and I’m RUNNING with ’em.ย ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜„

I am completely excited about the next steps in life! Not just for me, but for everyone I know. I have had the pleasure of having friendships last well over half my life, and my new friends are the soft cushion to hold us all together. Being able to sit back and watch all the beautiful and monumental gifts given to everyone around me is my favorite vision of all time- forget cooking for a moment. I try to express my thoughts and connect them back to food, but not everyday is fancy like that. Some days I sit back close my eyes and meditate on everything around me as I prepare for my next moves.

So for today, forget spell check. Forget fancy. Forget all the shit that clouds the brain and makes you think outside of yourself while experiencing a movement. Take some time to yourself, even if for one ย minute and recall why you started your journey. Embrace your path. Be uncomfortable in your own skin and get to know yourself. And if you have no clue where to begin, well know that right now is a great starting point to figure it out! Improvise. Couple that with a desire for forward progression and you are prepared for living your dreams. Times get hard, people flake & you can disappoint yourself. What really matters is taking everything that has happened to you, and pushing forward. The hardest thing to do sometimes is to start. When I find myself in a slump or questioning life, I remember my favorite verse from Birdland:ย Down them stairs, lose them cares – where?ย Down in Birdland. It is in that verse I lose myself in my vision, finding strength and excitement. Knowing if I shook off my cares and worries, all that is left is to go after my dreams. Challenging? Yes. Failure along the way? Of course. Nervous that it may not work out? HELL YES. But what if, what if you stuck with it and followed your heart, vision & passions and YOUR DREAMS CAME TRUE?!

You will only know the answer if you try.ย ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜„

Here’s to YOUR “Weekend,”

The Smitten Chef

๐Ÿ˜ƒ Risky business, following your heart. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

๐Ÿ˜ƒ It is risky business, following your heart. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

