Spice Up Life: Intentionally Follow Your Instincts! ✨✨✨✨

“The task is not so much to see what no one has yet seen; but to think what nobody has yet thought, about that which everybody sees.” ―Erwin Schrödinger.

A change begins with a shift in our perception. 

I woke up this morning with a strong desire to take a picture. I love pictures! They capture precious moments. Today is a precious moment, one I hope to close my eyes and repeat when needed. I went into the kitchen and took out the first four seasonings that stood out to me. The goal was to capture their beauty and embrace my skills from a different point of view: through the lens.

What fun! I normally take my food pictures, but today is different. Least it felt that way. I went solely on instinct- didn’t question those awkward angles I found myself crouched nor did I question ‘why’ when being lead to take a pictures with different backgrounds or textures. Instinct woke me up with a goal of picture taking, so let me just keep following it.

Intentionally following my instincts…what a bold lesson. Kinda like the spices featured.  🌹

Cumin: (The green seeds featured) are the seed of a delicate plant that grows in North Africa and the Middle East. The seeds have strong earthy flavor, dominating any dish it is used in. Found in Indian, Middle Eastern and Mexican cuisines, these seeds be purchased ground or whole.

Turmeric: (The vibrant yellow powder…POW!) is produced from a flowering tropical plant related to ginger. Known as Indian saffron (not a substitute for it, though) the beautiful color is used as food coloring and dye. Turmeric has a mild woodsy flavor and is a traditional ingredient in Indian curries. It is also used to add flavor to prepared mustards.

Coarse Kosher Salt: (The white crystals) is purified rock salt that contains no iodine or additives. Often substituted for common kitchen salt, Kosher salt is widely used due to its taste and ability to dissolve more easily than other salts. Resembling coarse flat salt crystals, use the salt to brine meats or for the rim of your next margarita glass!

Annatto Seeds: (The red spice featured) are small, brick red triangular seeds of a shrub from South America and the Caribbean. They are mild and peppery in flavor, going well with fish and shellfish dishes. My favorite things about them is the bright yellow-orange color they bring to foods, often used as a natural food coloring.

***Here’s to taking the time to changing our minds every now then, for fresher results.***

Food Lovers Unite,

The Smitten Chef  🌹

 

* I had to maneuver awkwardly, but was worth it to me! *

* I had to maneuver awkwardly, but was worth it to me! *

* The last shot of the day turned out to be my favorite *

* The last shot of the day turned out to be my favorite *

My first shot of the day

 * My first shot of the day *

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

