Day #2: Give Thanks. Pass the Hummus. 😄

…it sure feels good to be able to write again… 

It sure the heck does! I feel like I take my time more now as far as writing. I forgot how good it  feels to write. Hadn’t been doing too much of it; not with all this fancy technology! Computers, phones, tablets. You get it. Even before I burned myself, I was using these devices far too much in my opinion. For someone who loves hands on or face-to-face communication as the first choice, I have really lost track of things. But MAN, what a great feeling it is to be able to just a hold a pen and create.

It also feels cool to hold a camera still. Somewhat, ha. I have been working on my picture-taking skills lately! I was blessed with a book on food photography (as I stop and think, I’m pretty sure my dad wants it back) and one complimentary training class pass to see how the professionals think & work! It’s been exciting. The ability to hold my camera without my entire hand shaking is marvelous. I’m looking forward to displaying more of my work. 🙂

Sweeeeeet! Potatoes. (yes, that is actually what my brain put together.) In its desire to be abruptly fully focused on food, I decided to make Sweet potatoes! What kind? Well I already made some hummus earlier, so I figured we shall stick with this gut-trusting step and mix it in with that. If the recipe isn’t dead-on to your hummus lovin’ self, feel free to make changes. I enjoyed mine with a spot of sugar, to whip the flavors together more. Roasted Red Pepper & Sweet Potato Hummus? Yes please. All the time. On top of  so many different types of crackers and sandwhices? Absolutely. I will start with a baked whole wheat one. Or a veggie sandwich. Lots of spinach. Spinach makes everything good(er.) Cannot wait to try and see!

I thought writing was already awesome. Now I see no matter where I am in life, my writing is always one step ahead of me. Catching, describing and bringing together everything I have ever learned. Can’t help but smile big and be grateful.

One Caption at a Time,

The Smitten Chef

ROASTED RED PEPPER AND SWEET POTATO HUMMUS 

Ingredients:

  • 15 ounce can of Garbanzo beans, liquid reserved after drained
  • 1/2 of medium baked sweet potato, skin off
  • 1/2 roasted red bell pepper
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded, diced
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped garlic
  • 1 tablespoons chopped cilantro leaves
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 3 tablespoons chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper, salt to taste.
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients, except olive oil in food processor until pureed, then slowly add in olive oil.
  • Let set up for 1 hour prior to serving.
  • Serve with your bread of choice! Great with apples and fresh vegetables also.

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

