The Art of Cooking…or The Art in Cooking.

There’s something about artwork that drives me crazy. Crazy in L-O-V-E! It is by far one of the coolest things a person can do in my opinion. Making sculptures to paintings, to graphic designs.  Photography. Black and white. Abstract art. Landscape views. Body paint, murals. Hell, people physically linked together to make art. I don’t think there’s one area I am against.  I am the person shouting, “How did they do this? Who is the artist? Can I ask them questions?!” Art is a big category. It is so beautiful. So personal. It tells a silent story. Opposite of my path, for good food makes a sound. If you’re fortunate to know the artist, you get a chance to know the whole story. Have you ever watched an artist in their zone? Man, please. Talk about inspirational. I can barely put to paper all of my thoughts, let alone draw or paint them in a fantastic design. Nevertheless, it is still a sight to see. 🎭

A friend told me there’s art in food. I said, “No, there is meat in my food; leave me alone. “ 😉 Seriously, there really is an art to food.  Art is such a huge category just like food. When you find a food you love, you stick with it. Same with art. People need food to survive; artwork fills you up until it’s time to eat again. Where there is one, usually lies the other. Part of the excitement of attending an art gallery is to experience the food! Food can speak to me like a painting does or be presented so beautifully that I am scared to touch it. I have had an appetizer the color and shape of one of my favorite paintings. Now, that may not have been rehearsed, but it made an impression on me.

For the year of 2013, I decided that my focus is going to be on presentation. The type of presentation an artist shows at a gallery. Allow me to tap into a mindset where you give only your best or just don’t enter into the show. Personally, professionally and everything in between. Feel free to throw a prayer in my direction; I will accept. 😃

When I think about something being beautifully presented, I skip straight to a plated entrée at a fancy restaurant. When I think about all other forms of presentation, I think of art. There is an art to everything; and art is in everything. So help me to plate it. Help me to walk in it while cooking. I sometimes think about what I would look like as a painting. The background varies in different kitchen forms, but I’m in a white Chef’s coat and black pants, with some Orange Converse on and a huge smile. There is an orange spoon in my hands and half the time I’m waving it around rodeo-style. The painting I see is hilarious, classy/vintage and reserved all in one. I would try drawing it, but that would depress me instead of inspire. I will stick to cooking. I can only halfway wish my dishes are beautiful enough to be placed on canvas. I’m certain I was a traveling painter from Italy in my past life. 🇮🇹🎨

May You Always Recall Your Inspiration,

🍕 The Smitten Chef🍴

P.S. While writing, I created a Whole Wheat Penne Pasta with Basil Pesto, Spinach and Sweet Potatoes. 🍴 Bare with me in the recipe writing, it is partially why I’ve been so talkative in these blogs. (I am so used to freestlyin’.)

Ingredients:

1/2 box of mini Whole Wheat Penne Pasta

1/2 bag of Baby Spinach

1/3 c. Basil Pesto

1/4 Sweet Potato, diced

Silver of Yellow Onion, Diced

Cracked Black Pepper

Salt

Italian Seasoning

DIRECTIONS:

Boil Pasta for 10-11 minutes or until firm.

While waiting on pasta, put a little oil in a medium pan and sauté sweet potatoes in Italian Seasoning until firm, add onions and cook for another 1-2 minutes. Remove from heat until pasta is ready.

After pasta is drained, add to the pan of sweet potatoes and onions. Add spinach and pesto, stir on medium low heat until combined. Sprinkle with cracked pepper and salt.

Serve warm with your favorite bread. YUMMY, light and healthy.

ENJOY!

Whole Wheat Basil Penne Pasta  w/ Spinach and Sweet Potatoes

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

