Breathe Easy

Take a moment. Inhale. Exhale. Repeat 5 or more times. How do you feel? A little more relaxed than before? The longer you do it, the better it will feel. The longer it is being done, the more you will get used to it. That is the plan.

Wait, what plan? I have said that many a times. The plan that was a nice idea and became just that. The plan that sounded good for someone else. The unrealistic plans. The “look good to others” plans. I’ve been known to say, “I’m all planned out!”

Be careful what you say; it will come to you. I became without a plan, in a larger way I knew to be possible. I forgot to take into consideration the stuff you do before you sit down to plan. (As if this wasn’t already confusing enough.)

There is a method to this organizational madness! Stop. Look around. Assess the situation. Then DO something. My friends often joke, “what’s the point of a to-do list if you forget to even look at it?” Or, “I have a place I put my keys; I just never put them there!” Classic steps missed. Done with good intentions though.

With cooking, timing is everything. Everything. Even when you have plenty of time. Menu planning, grocery shopping, meeting and greeting people, table setting. There’s a lot that goes into the cooking BEFORE the cooking. You cannot prepare a fabulous feast for guests if there is no food or places for them to dine!

I have allllmost wrapped the concept of around the clock organization. Some days are completely off the to-do list, leaving me exhausted. Or running to the grocery store to pick up rum for the oh I don’t know, RUM RUNNERS. It is in those moments, I march into the kitchen and inhale, exhale and repeat. Repeat, eat chocolate, repeat 🙂 For I know to stand in the place I am called to be brings a new energy that is worth being on time for.

DING!!! Your Order is Ready for Pickup,

The Smitten Chef 💘

Fancy meeting you here!!! I welcome your thoughts below. Food Lovers Unite.

